The Flashlight

This is going to be a quick post, but I just wanted to share a poem that was inspired by a discussion I had with the peeps from my Bible study the other night. Let me know what you think!

The Flashlight

The Lord is shining a light on my path;

there was only darkness before

so I beam as I can finally see the rocky crevices

appear around my feet.

***

“This way,” He gently whispers

as the beam moves along the path.

I step carefully to avoid the cracks

so I can keep my balance.

***

All of a sudden, the path slopes downward

to a dangling precipice.

“But Lord, I-“

“Just trust me,” He answers.

***

“I can’t- I can’t do it,”

so panicking, I pull out my flashlight,

and pop in the AAA batteries.

“I think I know a better way,” I say

so I traipse out of the light

through the brush and bramble,

letting the narrow flashlight beams

spill out.

I’m going so much faster this way,

going everywhere I like,

whenever I like.

But as I’m running about,

brushes begin to snag

and branches begin to grab.

The flashlight beam is dimming.

“Darn batteries,” I say,

and shake the device. It goes out.

Completely out.

Now I’m all alone,

in the middle of the woods.

Completely alone.

***

“God, I was wrong. I was so wrong.

I wouldn’t blame you, for wanting to leave me

alone.

I’m sorry for all I’ve done,

but if you’re God,

and if you’re loving,

please save me.

Please.”

At that moment, my path lights up

and I can see the rocks and crevices again.

***

“It’s ok, I’m here now.”

I grin, then throw my flashlight to the ground.

I won’t need that anymore.

But I hesitate as the Lord’s light moves along the path

and I look again at the device.

“Go ahead,” God says. “Pick it up.

You might need it later.”

I bend down to pick up the flashlight

for when I’ll use it once again.

***

God knows when we’ll stray away from him and his will, but he let’s us do so, because he loves us. He didn’t create us to be robots, but instead gave us free will to do what we want. He wants us to come back to him, and gently asks us to follow him, but he doesn’t force us to.

That’s what makes him so loving.

Leave a Reply

