Reflections on Resolutions and Resolutions of Reflections

I thought I’d try something a little different tonight. I got all the weird randomness out last night, and believe me, it was waiting to be released. A month or so of my thoughts being pent up in my mind is enough reason for one’s mind to explode.

I’m going to be a little more serious. And I know what you’re thinking: You? Serious?! HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!! That would never happen!! Only on the day that pigs fly! Wait, what is that outside my window? Is that a-

Yes. It’s a pig, flying outside your window. But let’s get down to business (and no, not to defeat the Huns).

I mentioned last night that I was hoping to talk about my New Year’s resolutions for 2015. I am used to following the tradition of NOT making a New Year’s Resolution because that’s what everybody else tries to do every year, and fails. And I don’t like to do things just because everybody else does them. You might even say that I’m a nonconformist, hipster even. But we’ll go into that discussion at a later point.

Nevertheless, I decided to concoct a few resolutions, because, why not? Maybe mine will last longer than just one month. Though I have so many, I might forget that I actually made them. So here they are in written, numerical form (as opposed to hieroglyphic form):

1) Get a life.

2) Get a job.

3) Get a grip.

And ablie-ablie-ablie that’s all folks!!

Seriously though, here they are. They’re pretty much extensions of those three though, if you think about it.

1) Finishing things

– I’d like to finish a whole lot of things. I’m paused in the middle or have started several classics that I just haven’t gotten around to. I’d like to change that, starting with Sense and Sensibilty, which I’m proud to say I’m a quarter of the way through. It’s currently the only book I am reading, which is really saying something. This resolution then means that I’ll have to severely limit myself when I’m at the library to checking out only one or maybe even two books at a time. It’s going to be really tough.

– I’d like to finish several stories that I’ve started writing, beginning with my recent NaNoWriMo contribution, which might even go towards publication someday.

– finishing things also would mean finally finishing that Giver book review that I’ve promised. Eventually. Maybe.

(I didn’t say there was a specific time limit on finishing these things. If it comes to the end of the year and I still haven’t written that review, please get back to me on December 31st and get on my case. I will lock myself in a closet to finish it then.)

2) Getting a job

– pretty self-explanatory, but this will involve a lot of self-examination and prayer. And possibly traveling to new places, if it’s God’s will.

3) Becoming a better friend

– this means being more honest and open with the friends I already have and with new friends that I’m making. This too will be challenging, since I’m not very good at it, but I’m gonna try.

– this also means spending more time in the word and prayer. I know it’s cheesy, cause Jesus is ma friend and all- I mean, yah, I just finished snapchatting him a picture of me blogging about him.

J.k. He doesn’t have snapchat, let alone an iPhone, but if He did, He’d have all the best expressions, because comon. He’s Jesus, the freakin’ Son of God.

Anyways, this is getting a little weird, so let me take it down a notch.

Tonight, I watched a live streaming of the Passion 2015 conference in Georgia. Francis Chan, author of books like Crazy Love and Forgotten God was speaking. We looked into Exodus 19 when Moses goes up the mountain to speak with God, who descended to the mountain in a dense cloud. The Israelites were gathered around the mountain, hearing God talk to Moses amidst the thunder, lightning and loud trumpet blasts. They were too busy being near to the presence of God to think about checking their Facebook statuses or playing Bible Trivia Crack.

We have the same opportunity–even better, actually, because we can enter into his presence at any time we like– to talk with that same God who’s still that great and always present. And yet we only squeeze him into our five minute time slot in the morning, or at night when we’re falling asleep.

But the thing is, God cannot be squeezed into tight spaces. Following God is a commitment that can take a lot of time and energy. But I can tell you from personal experience that it’s worth that commitment, and time doesn’t really matter. I notice a definite change in my life when I am committing to being in his presence daily, and it’s a beautiful change.

Now I come to the end of my post, and I hope my random ramblings have helped you in some way, even if it was extremely difficult to be serious the whole time. I’m sure you could tell.

And here, I encourage you, in the spirit of making New Year’s Resolutions when people make commitments, to join me in committing to following God whole-heartedly. Because the half-hearted thing isn’t a good look.

So with that, I make my exodus (hopefully not like the Israelites). A good night to you all, and to you all a good night.

Leave a Reply

